Is Medium Worth It? Not Really

Aujha Aye
2 min readJan 19, 2023
Photo by Dan Dennis on Unsplash

I’ve been on Medium for years. In 2021 I joined the Partner Program. I got dropped shortly after sometime in 2022 after they updated the requirements. I already knew that the money writers make on Medium is laughable but, I figured why not make some “passive income” from my blogs.

“Passive” is a great description for the type of money Medium deposits into your account at the start of every month. I kid you not, I don’t think I’ve ever broken the $10 threshold. Mostly, I get deposits for four or five dollars. For someone that’s just getting into writing, this might seem exciting. If you’re like me, freelance for a living, and happen to [now] be in competition with newbies charging two cents per word for their mediocre writing…you feel completely disrespected by this platform.

I made a whopping $61.22 on Medium this year. It also seems like my growth stalled sometime in September. My stories aren’t about low-paying writing gigs so, I guess they’re not worth pushing on the platform. Who knows.

I cancelled my Membership and I don’t think I’ll be posting on here for much longer. Thank you to those of you that have shown support. Maybe you’ll have better luck here.

Signing out and moving on to better,

Aujha Aye

--

--

Aujha Aye

Creative, (always) hungry, and selective introvert living her best life. Buy me a Jasmine Milk Tea :): https://ko-fi.com/aujhaaye